Elementary S1 E5- First Instincts And The Angel Of Death


The poster says it all.

 

Sherlock tries to convince Watson he smells murder.

With each episode Season one of Elementary’s Sherlock Holmes has “baited” me. This episode grabbed my attention when the Angel of Death is found to be walking the halls of a New York City  hospital.

Elementary, My dear Watson!

Instinctively from the start Sherlock Holmes (Jonny Lee Miller of Eli Stone and Dexter fame) sniffs out murder like a hound dog sniffs out a bone. Joan Watson (Lucy Liu of Charlie’s Angels and Kung Fu Panda), gets a chance to use her doctor skills to help Sherlock solve the case.

The storyline reveals more of Dr. Joan Watson’s past. The episode aptly named, “Lesser Evils”, has Sherlock and Watson on the trail of an Angel of Death. Someone is killing patients systematically at a New York City Hospital.

During the investigation Sherlock learns more about his “sober companion” than he expected.

Sherlock is like a proud papa in the wings, when Watson’s instincts might keep a former colleague’s patient from dying. Meanwhile, the unlikely duo, work together to catch the person responsible for nine deaths in a local hospital.

With a long list of suspects Watson offers to add her medical expertise in solving the case.

As Sherlock and Watson start brainstorming, they discover that someone has stolen Epinephrine, and is using it to kill terminally ill patients.

I love Sherlock’s manic solving skills, but in the interrogation room he seems so still and in control. Since Sherlock is a police consultant, and not part of law enforcement, he has his way of digging up the truth.

Watson meets an old colleague,Dr. Carrie Dwyer, while working on the case. After the meeting Watson gets a chance to see on one of Dr. Dwyer’s patients. Watson notices some sign that the patient may have endocarditis, she warns Dr. Dwyer surgery might kill her patient. Dr. Dwyer takes offense and reminds Watson why she’s no longer a doctor (place awkward silence here) in the first place.

Not long after, the crime solving duo, catches a possible suspect in a patient’s room in the act of a homicide. They may have caught their elusive, Angel of Death, but catch a morphine addicted doctor instead.

Sherlock is getting more manic and frustrated by the minute, but he still seems in control. So in control in fact, Sherlock encourages Watson to stand her ground and get Dr. Dwyer do a life saving test to save her patient’s life.

Then the case explodes wide open.  Sherlock and Watson catch the Angel of Death and an egomaniac doctor, who used the Angel of Death to cover his own mistake.

Renowned, but troubled surgeon Dr. Mason Baldwin, left a clamp inside his patient during surgery.Already on thin ice with the hospital Dr. Baldwin used, the Angel of Death, to kill the patient for him, before his mistake was discovered. He almost got away scott clean if not for Sherlock’s need to leave no stone unturned.

While Dr.Watson trusts her medical instincts to help save a young girls life. This episode was filled with a great beginning and an explosive ending. I can’t wait for the next episode.

Did you see the episode? Leave a comment on what you thought of it? What do you think of Jonny Lee Millers Sherlock?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. bluedeckshoe says:

    I like Elementary. I like the production values, the acting and the stories, but what I don’t like is the vandalism being wrought on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s creation. I know I shouldn’t be so prickly – but I can’t help it. To me Sherlock belongs in Victorian London and every time he gets dragged out in some remaining, it makes my toes curl!

    Like

    1. I agree with your point…lol But it is so interesting to see how Sherlock would have fit in our modern day world. I feel like Elementary gives us a more human look at Sherlock. Also, the fact that they make Watson a woman, lends more to the dynamics of living in a modern world. So far, it seems Sherlock is not doing so bad adapting to the modern world from his Victorian era. Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate your comment.

      Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    This is such a great show….so witty and fun.

    Like

    1. Cee,at first I didn’t think I would like the show.I believe, I felt the same as most Sherlock fans, Sherlock doesn’t belong in our world. But Elementary writers have been so engaging with the story lines, I look forward to watching the show.I have to admit a brillant mind is a big turn on for me. I love Sherlock brilliant uncensored mind. 😉

      Like

Speak out, let's hear your voice!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.